Shawnee Public Library http://pioneer.lib.ok.us/home/shatop Wed, 23 Apr 2014 04:14:21 -0500 Joomla! - Open Source Content Management en-gb Learn more about Computer File Management with Shawnee class http://pioneer.lib.ok.us/home/shatop/86-AS/5873-learn-more-about-computer-file-management-with-shawnee-class http://pioneer.lib.ok.us/home/shatop/86-AS/5873-learn-more-about-computer-file-management-with-shawnee-class

The Shawnee Public Library invites computer users to boost their knowledge with a Computer File Management class, at 10 a.m. Tuesday, April 29, in the Computer Training Center of the library, 101 N. Philadelphia Ave.

Participants will learn to create, move, organize, rename, and delete files. The class will practice saving files to different locations and in different formats as well as to and from different types of devices such as cameras and smartphones.

Read More...

]]>
cpotts@pls.lib.ok.us (Christian Potts) Adults Tue, 22 Apr 2014 19:00:00 -0500
Teens commemorate Earth Day with bird feeder craft in Shawnee http://pioneer.lib.ok.us/home/shatop/78-ST/5872-teens-commemorate-earth-day-with-bird-feeder-craft-in-shawnee http://pioneer.lib.ok.us/home/shatop/78-ST/5872-teens-commemorate-earth-day-with-bird-feeder-craft-in-shawnee

The Shawnee Public Library invites local teens to celebrate Earth Day at a craft program, starting at 2 p.m. Saturday, April 26, in Community Room A of the library, 101 N. Philadelphia Ave.

Participants will be putting together a variety of recycled items to construct a bird feeder they can take home. All supplies will be provided by library staff.

Read More...

]]>
cpotts@pls.lib.ok.us (Christian Potts) Teens Sat, 19 Apr 2014 19:00:00 -0500
Build your social networking skills with Shawnee classes http://pioneer.lib.ok.us/home/shatop/86-AS/5869-build-your-social-networking-skills-with-shawnee-classes http://pioneer.lib.ok.us/home/shatop/86-AS/5869-build-your-social-networking-skills-with-shawnee-classes

The Shawnee Public Library gives an introduction to the popular online services Pinterest and Facebook at a pair of upcoming computer classes.

The library hosts “Facebook for Beginners” at 10 a.m. Wednesday, April 23, and “Introduction to Pinterest” at 10 a.m. Thursday, April 24, in the Computer Training Center of the library, 101 N. Philadelphia Ave.

Read More...

]]>
cpotts@pls.lib.ok.us (Christian Potts) Adults Thu, 17 Apr 2014 19:00:00 -0500
April's Keep Reading! http://pioneer.lib.ok.us/home/shatop/101-check5/5825-april-s-keep-reading http://pioneer.lib.ok.us/home/shatop/101-check5/5825-april-s-keep-reading

The Son book coverADULT FICTION:  THE SON by Philipp Meyer

In the tradition of Larry McMurtary, Philipp Meyer considers the settlement of Texas through the eyes of three generations.  Eli McCullough, taken at age 13 by the Comanches, is the patriarch.  His son, Peter may carry the McCullough name, but he does not share his father’s greed for more land and more money.  That personality trait is picked up by Jeannie, Eli’s great-granddaughter.  I have to confess that while I enjoyed Eli’s and Peter’s stories, I found myself wanting to skip through Jeannie’s tale.  Her life just seemed boring.  I would rate this novel as OK.

Read More...

]]>
shawnee_library@pls.lib.ok.us (Nancy Arrington) Check this out! Wed, 02 Apr 2014 21:00:00 -0500
New in Fabulous Fiction Finds http://pioneer.lib.ok.us/home/shatop/101-check5/5826-new-in-fabulous-fiction-finds http://pioneer.lib.ok.us/home/shatop/101-check5/5826-new-in-fabulous-fiction-finds

The Fabulous Fiction Finds corner at Shawnee is the home of inspirational fiction during the month of April.  These novels cross all genres, but are works of fiction that will leave you with a good feeling when you finish the last page.  Also called Christian fiction, you can be sure that the language is such that it won't make you blush.

]]>
shawnee_library@pls.lib.ok.us (Nancy Arrington) Check this out! Wed, 02 Apr 2014 21:00:00 -0500
Come for fun and reading at Preschool Story Time in Shawnee http://pioneer.lib.ok.us/home/shatop/61-SC/5599-come-for-fun-and-reading-at-preschool-story-time-in-shawnee http://pioneer.lib.ok.us/home/shatop/61-SC/5599-come-for-fun-and-reading-at-preschool-story-time-in-shawnee

The Shawnee Public Library invites some of its youngest visitors to take part in the fun and learning at its weekly sessions of Preschool Story Time on Tuesdays.

The story times are for ages 3 to 5 and take place twice on Tuesdays, at 10 a.m. and 4 p.m., beginning Feb. 4 and running through April 29. They feature stories, music, rhymes, creative movement and more.

Read More...

]]>
cpotts@pls.lib.ok.us (Christian Potts) Children Fri, 31 Jan 2014 11:00:00 -0600
Shawnee to host ESL class series http://pioneer.lib.ok.us/home/shatop/86-AS/5274-shawnee-to-host-esl-class-series http://pioneer.lib.ok.us/home/shatop/86-AS/5274-shawnee-to-host-esl-class-series

StudentsThe Pottawatomie County Literacy Services Department is beginning a series of English as a Second Language classes for new English speakers.

The classes will take place from 6 to 8 p.m. on Tuesdays and Thursdays at the Shawnee Public Library, 101 N. Philadelphia Ave.

Read More...

]]>
cpotts@pls.lib.ok.us (Christian Potts) Adults Wed, 18 Sep 2013 19:00:00 -0500