Catalog Search  

Library Lovers' Month

February is Library Lovers' Month! This is the time where people celebrate the gift of libraries during their most struggling time of the year. If you would like to learn more about how to love your hometown library, visit the Library Lovers' website here. Also, here are some items about all things library related spanning from library histories to children's tales to help you get started with your celebration:

Literature

Library: an unquiet history book jacketLibrary: an unquiet history by Matthew Battles

On the survival and destruction of knowledge, from Alexandria to the Internet. Through the ages, libraries have not only accumulated and preserved but also shaped, inspired, and obliterated knowledge. Matthew Battles, a rare books librarian and a gifted narrator, takes us on a spirited foray from Boston to Baghdad, from classical scriptoria to medieval monasteries, from the Vatican to the British Library, from socialist reading rooms and rural home libraries to the Information Age. He explores how libraries are built and how they are destroyed, from the decay of the great Alexandrian library to scroll burnings in ancient China to the destruction of Aztec books by the Spanish ”and in our own time, the burning of libraries in Europe and Bosnia."

The Librarian book jacketThe Librarian by Larry Beinhart

How on earth did nebbish university librarian David Goldberg end up on Virginia's Ten Most Wanted Criminals list for bestiality? And how did he get ensnared in a vast right-wing conspiracy to steal the presidency? It all begins so innocently when Goldberg starts moonlighting for eccentric, conservative billionaire Alan Carston Stowe as an archivist. But Goldberg's appointment worries a cabal of ruthless right-wingers-ostensibly allies of Stowe, whose money lubricates their zany scary conspiracies-with very close ties to the White House. They fear that Goldberg will find something in Stowe's records that will compromise the dirty tricks involved in re-electing Augustus Winthrop Scott, the dim scion of a powerful Republican political family, for a second term. As the presidential election heads into its final stretch, the hunt is on to remove Goldberg from his position-by any means necessary. The acclaimed, Edgar-winning mystery writer Larry Beinhart returns with this timely novel. In the tradition of Carl Hiassen, Elmore Leonard, and Joe Klein, The Librarian is a frenetic, scary and hilarious thriller that goes deep into the dark heart of election year politics.

The Librarian from the Black Lagoon book jacketThe Librarian from the Black Lagoon by Mike Thaler

Hubie's class is going to visit the library for the first time, and rumor has it the library is a dark dungeon of rules and misery. Presiding over the ghastly proceedings is Mrs. Beamster, better known as: The Laminator! Hubie is sure he's doomed...but when he actually gets to the library, will things be as he expected?

Films

Desk Set movie coverDesk Set starring Spencer Tracy and Katherine Hepburn

Richard is asked to introduce special computers into the office atmosphere and is told to keep his job a secret. The entire office thinks that they are being replaced. Bunny and Richard have sparks between them which add to the office drama.

Breakfast at Tiffany's movie coverBreakfast at Tiffany's starring Audrey Hepburn and George Peppard

A romance about a New York City playgirl and her relationship with a young writer. Audrey Hepburn was nominated for an Academy Award for her portrayal of Holly Golightly. Based on the novel by Truman Capote.

The Mummy movie coverThe Mummy starring Brendan Fraser and Rachel Weisz

A remake of the 1932 Boris Karloff horror film about treasure-hunting explorers and a young librarian who unwittingly liberate a 3,000-year-old Egyptian priest who had been sentenced to an eternity as one of the living dead.

If you'd like to see what items are popular with librarians across the nation, check out these titles from your hometown library:

Fiction

The Sense of an Ending book jacketThe Sense of an Ending by Julian Barnes

Tony Webster and his clique first met Adrian Finn at school. Sex-hungry and book-hungry, they would navigate the girl-less sixth form together, trading in affectations, in-jokes, rumour and wit. Maybe Adrian was a little more serious than the others, certainly more intelligent, but they all swore to stay friends for life. Now Tony is in middle age. He's had a career and a single marriage, a calm divorce. He's certainly never tried to hurt anybody. Memory, though, is imperfect. It can always throw up surprises, as a lawyer's letter is about to prove.

The Tragedy of Arthur book jacketThe Tragedy of Arthur: a novel by Arthur Phillips

When their long-imprisoned con-artist father reaches the end of his life, Arthur and his twin sister become the owners of an undiscovered play by William Shakespeare that their father wants published, a final request that represents either a great literary gift or their father's last great heist.

Swamplandia! book jacketSwamplandia!: a novel by Karen Russell

The Bigtree children struggle to protect their Florida Everglades alligator-wrestling theme park from a sophisticated competitor after losing their parents.

Nonfiction

The Memory Palace book jacketThe Memory Palace by Mira Bartók

Before she was struck with schizophrenia at the age of nineteen, beautiful piano protege Norma Herr had been the most vibrant personality in the room. She loved her daughters and did her best to raise them well, but as her mental state deteriorated, Norma spoke less about Chopin and more about Nazis and her fear that her daughters would be kidnapped, murdered, or raped. When the girls left for college, the harassment escalated--Norma called them obsessively, appeared at their apartments or jobs, and threatened to kill herself if they did not return home. After a traumatic encounter, Mira and her sister were left with no choice but to change their names and sever all contact with Norma in order to stay safe. But while Mira pursued her career as an artist--exploring the ancient romance of Florence, the eerie mysticism of northern Norway, and the raw desert of Israel--the haunting memories of her mother were never far away. Then one day, Mira's life changed forever after a debilitating car accident. As she struggled to recover from a traumatic brain injury, she was confronted with a need to recontextualize her life--she had to relearn how to paint, read, and interact with the outside world. In her search for a way back to her lost self, Mira reached out to the homeless shelter where she believed her mother was living and discovered that Norma was dying. Mira and her sister traveled to Cleveland, where they shared an extraordinary reconciliation with their mother that none of them had thought possible. At the hospital, Mira discovered a set of keys that opened a storage unit Norma had been keeping for seventeen years. Filled with family photos, childhood toys, and ephemera from Norma's life, the storage unit brought back a flood of previous memories that Mira had thought were lost to her forever. The Memory Palace is a breathtaking literary memoir about the complex meaning of love, truth, and the capacity for forgiveness among family. Through stunning prose and original art created by the author in tandem with the text, this story explores the connections between mother and daughter that cannot be broken no matter how much exists--or is lost--between them.

Destiny of the Republic book jacketDestiny of the Republic: A Tale of Madness, Medicine, and the Murder of a President by Candice Millard

A narrative account of the twentieth president's political career offers insight into his background as a scholar and Civil War hero, his battles against the corrupt establishment, and Alexander Graham Bell's failed attempt to save him from an assassin's bullet.

Thinking, Fast and Slow book jacketThinking, Fast and Slow by Daniel Kahneman

In this work the author, a recipient of the Nobel Prize in Economic Sciences for his seminal work in psychology that challenged the rational model of judgment and decision making, has brought together his many years of research and thinking in one book. He explains the two systems that drive the way we think. System 1 is fast, intuitive, and emotional; System 2 is slower, more deliberative, and more logical. He exposes the extraordinary capabilities, and also the faults and biases, of fast thinking, and reveals the pervasive influence of intuitive impressions on our thoughts and behavior. He reveals where we can and cannot trust our intuitions and how we can tap into the benefits of slow thinking. He offers practical and enlightening insights into how choices are made in both our business and our personal lives, and how we can use different techniques to guard against the mental glitches that often get us into trouble. This author's work has transformed cognitive psychology and launched the new fields of behavioral economics and happiness studies. In this book, he takes us on a tour of the mind and explains the two systems that drive the way we think and the way we make choices.

Have a wonderful February while you express your love for libraries with us.

FacebookTwitterDiggDeliciousReddit
Pin It

Staff Link - Developed by the Pioneer Virtual Library, Powered by Joomla! - Pioneer Library System 300 Norman Center Court, Norman OK 73072